Revised Proposals for New Cotswolds Constituency Published

Press release from Cotswold District Council

The independent Boundary Commission for England (BCE) has published revised proposals for new Parliamentary constituencies, including the Cotswolds. The publication marks the start of eight weeks of public consultation, during which the Commission is inviting feedback to help shape the proposed new constituency boundaries.  This is the last round of public consultation before the Boundary Commission makes its recommendations to Parliament.

Insofar as Cotswold District is concerned, the current parliamentary constituency (known as ‘The Cotswolds’) encompasses the Cotswold District Council area plus the wards of Kingswood, Minchinhampton and Wotton-under-Edge within Stroud District Council.  The proposed constituency, also called ‘The Cotswolds’, would comprise the same Cotswold District Council area plus the Isbourne and Winchcombe Wards from Tewkesbury Borough Council.  The proposed new constituency would comprise almost 73,000 electors.

During the eight week consultation period, copies of the relevant documents for the Cotswolds Constituency will be available for public inspection at the Council’s offices in Trinity Road, Cirencester and the Moreton Area Centre.

The consultation closes on 11 December 2017 and comments can be made via the Boundary Commission’s website.