Changes to Parliamentary Boundaries in the Cotswolds

Press release from Cotswold District Council:

Changes to parliamentary boundaries across the Cotswold District to come into effect for next General Election.

The Boundary Commission for England has completed a review of Parliamentary constituencies which will impact communities in the Cotswold District at the next General Election.

Changes to the Parliamentary boundaries mean that Cotswold District will now form part of two parliamentary constituencies, rather than the one it currently does.

North Cotswolds constituency (70,915 voters) will be formed of Cotswold, Tewkesbury and Stroud district wards.

South Cotswolds constituency (72,856 voters) will be formed of the Cotswold and Wiltshire local authority areas and one ward (Kingswood) from the Stroud district.

The changes were approved at the end of 2023 meaning they will come into effect for the next General Election. The two-year review process included a number of statutory public consultations, where more than 60,000 representations were made.

The changes do not affect the boundaries for any wards for local council elections and will have no impact on council services.

The full report from the Boundary Commission including the final recommendations has been published here:

Cotswold District Council’s Returning Officer and Chief Executive, Robert Weaver, said: “Although these changes alter the Parliamentary constituency that you live in, they do not affect which council area you live in, nor the services you receive. Your councillors will remain the same and it will not affect future council elections.

“At the next general election, all registered voters will be sent information saying which parliamentary constituency they are part of, and residents can look up their new constituencies on the Boundary Commission website.”

Maps can be found via the links below:

North Cotswolds constituency
South Cotswolds constituency

Every constituency must contain between 69,724 and 77,062 electors. The number of constituencies in England has increased from 533 to 543 and the number of constituencies in the South West has increased from 55 to 58.